Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Director: Michel Gondry
Writers: Michel Gondry, Charlie Kaufman and Pierre Bismuth
Released: 2004

My Valentines Day post. Why? Because of this line that Joel delivers in the film:
“Today is a holiday invented by greeting card companies to make people feel like crap.” Which I found amusing…

Well, actually, I just wanted to review this film, and it was a coincidence that this line was in the film… So yeah… Enjoy!!

Still one of my favourite movies after multiple viewings! I discovered this film in English class two years ago and (admittedly not actually getting it the first time I watched it) I have loved it since!

This film is thought provoking to say the least… Mind boggling too. (Believe you me, the people who said they got it after the first viewing were either lying or they read the plot on Wikipedia.)

It’s sort of like Inception meets The Matrix, but that’s just because it’s the exploration of a different perspective of life. At the end of The Matrix we all asked ourselves “is this world virtual…?, at the end of Inception we all asked ourselves “am I in a dream?” whereas at the end of Eternal Sunshine, you’ll ask yourselves “have I done this before, but just had the memory erased?”

Clementine

Clementine Kruczynski with her ever-changing hair colour, which helps the viewer keep track of the order of the plot

The two main characters, Joel (Jim Carrey) and Clementine (Kate Winslet) are opposites. Total opposites. It shows how two people can complete each other, but also how much they can clash. It’s also interesting because the actual actors appear to be playing the opposite of the sort of characters they’ve almost been type-cast to play previously. Winslet and Carrey both nail it though.

Joel Barish

Joel Barish may feel like a familiar character from the office

This film is bright, philosophical and I found it to be a very familiar film… But the story wasn’t familiar at all, neither was the way it was filmed, and I really haven’t seen anything like it before. However, what I eventually concluded to be strangely familiar was the characters. They seemed so real – all of them. I mean, even their hair was sometimes messy! SHOCK HORROR!!

There were foul-mouthed outrageous characters such as Clementine and the work-ditching, boring, introverted office workers such as Joel and the unprofessional people in authority such as Howard (Tom Wilkinson). I mean, it wasn’t like watching a documentary, but by having such an outlandish script and intense story it was very easy to keep connected to it because of the real characters. Fantastic.

Eternal Sunshine is a film that not everybody could relate to or understand or fully enjoy. I think it is because this is not a spoon-fed love story Fedexed from Hollywood to a cinema near you. It’s an intricate, interesting and complex film of a world where you never need to deal with pain, suffering or embarrassment. But also the complications of this, such as never learning lessons and how one can repeat them, like Mary (Kirsten Dunst) who had an affair with the same married man… Twice without knowing it.

Eternal Sunshine

Pretty trippy shenanigans in this film

This is an absolutely AWESOME film that will have you thinking for hours. I thoroughly enjoyed it as it is a fantastic break from the monotonous love stories out there. The technology used and tricks done on set by the camera and the actors is very old school, but very cool.

I hope you enjoy this crazy and psychedelic film as much as I did.

You’ll be sure to pick up a few funny sayings and dwell over the small touches that you would never notice the first three times of watching it.

A visual pleasure. I don’t know how anyone could ever know where to start with the writing of this incredible script.

Jodie’s rating: 8.5/10

Gotta be honest… This trailer really makes this film very light and fluffy… Which isn’t accurate… At all. But it gives you the general idea of what it’s about.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism student in New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my FaceBook page NZ Film Freak :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews, Jodie's Faves, Popular and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

  1. Steve says:

    Really enjoyed this review. I watches the film once, didn’t get it. I’ll hire it out again and give it another whirl. Cheers.

  2. Anastasia says:

    I think I’ll have to have a look at this again, I’m not seeing it & found it a bit, I don’t know really, I have only watched it once & as your review was so passionate, will give it another chance & let you know, great review by the way

  3. Pingback: Scent of a Woman | The Film Freak of NZ

  4. Pingback: Stranger Than Fiction | The Film Freak of NZ

  5. Pingback: Goodbye, 2012! | The Film Freak of NZ

  6. Pingback: My Fave Scene: Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind | The Film Freak of NZ

Leave a Reply

