Sherlock Holmes – A Game of Shadows

 

Director: Guy Ritchie
Writers: Kieran Mulroney and Michele Mulroney
Released: 2011
Featuring: Robert Downey Jr, Jude Law, Rachel McAdams, Noomi Rapace and Stephen Fry

Well, it’s all peaches and gravy in this corner. (Unlike NZ’s major film critic, Kate Rodger, with her surprising 2/5 rating) However, I thought this film was a fantastic sequel to the flawless first Sherlock Holmes‘ film!

What I liked in particular was the continuity between the two films, unlike the Twilight Saga and Harry Potter series which are all directed by different people each time, subsequently creating very different looks per film. I think that the continuity was mistaken as the Sherlock movies being “exactly the same”, but I strongly disagree as it keeps a regular tone.

Oh. My God. The COOLEST scene EVER was when Holmes and Watson were running through a dark forest being shot at, and it was all in slow motion with close ups of the bullets shattering tree trunks and bombs blowing up soil which was so pin-sharp I could see a bit of dirt fall in Robert Downey Junior’s eye!

I did think this scene looked an awful lot like the running-through-forest scene of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1

Sherlock Holmes forest scene:

Harry Potter forest scene:

The major difference between this Holmes film and the last is the absolute hilarity of the second! It became like a black comedy/action film. My favourite parts being when Sherlock Holmes creates  lycra-like suits with various patterns such as a wooden print or the same pattern as a chair which allows him to literally blend into the furniture around the house.

A Game of Shadows showed the relation to James Bond films, due to the amount of ammunition and shooting scenes, which became a tad boring after a while. I think some of it could have been cut to make the 2.5hr movie a tad leaner.

You see a lot of the world in this film too. From London to France to Switzerland – you see the whole kit and caboodle – way cool. Way cool.

Guy Ritchie’s style was clearly carried through to the sequel. Everything we loved, such as the slow motion and pre-planned fights Holmes talks us through. Love it.

Not to give anything specific away, but the fate of a certain character was disappointing, and I don’t think it should have panned out the way it did. It goes against the genre’s structure. But, at least it’s original.

Fantastic film – just like the first!! How the ratings are so low, I really do not know.

Jodie’s rating: 9.5/10

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sherlock Holmes – A Game of Shadows

  1. Popeye says:

    Looks like you really enjoyed this movie. Make me wanna go see it me self. It’s an elementary proposition I can’t refuse. I’m off!
    PS- cool revu

  2. Jeyna Grace says:

    All i read was your rating and the first paragraph. I have not watched the film yet.

  3. Popeye says:

    Just seen the promo on this page for the film, it LOOKS FANTASTICO!!!!

  4. Chrissy says:

    This film is fantastic! I agree with your review completely, but I was more than disappointed with Irene being killed off. The whole movie I expected her to pop out and surprise us with her survival. It was the chemistry between her and Holmes that kept me watching the first film. Don’t really like how the gypsy “replaced” her in the trio.

  5. Pingback: Goodbye, 2012! | The Film Freak of NZ

  6. Pingback: My Fave Scene: Sherlock Homes A Game of Shadows | The Film Freak of NZ

  7. Pingback: The Great Gatsby | The Film Freak of NZ

Leave a Reply

