Hound Dog – Big Mama Thornton

Big Mama

She would have been incredible live!

You won’t know what hit you! After expressing my deep love of Elvis Presley, a friend (thank you Raj!!) suggested listening to the original that Elvis made famous, Hound Dog.

Her voice is stronger than Aretha Franklin’s and her stage presence is as breath taking as… As somebody who has a lot of stage presence…

But this song will get you dancing and longing for the fifties!! As well as longing for a singing voice as strong as Big Mama’s… You just can’t sing along to this song unless your voice measures up to hers. You just can’t.

I actually prefer the lyrics to this song than Presley’s (sorry Elvis, I still love you!) because Big Mama doesn’t sing about catching rabbits… I never really got that line anyway…

Jodie.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Music Reviews, Awesome Songs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hound Dog – Big Mama Thornton

  1. If I am right the clip is from British TV in the 60s.

Leave a Reply

