Hereafter

Director: Clint Eastwood
Writer: Peter Morgan
Released: 2010

Released in 2010?? Are you kidding me? I thought we would have mastered the art of writing and making films by then… Jeez!

And Matt Damon. Matt Damon. Where is your head?? You are on my top 10 actors… And you sign yourself up for this??

So anyway, having bought this DVD on a bit of a whim I felt obliged to like it. But I found it difficult since the story line was virtually non-existent.

Don’t get me wrong, the first ten or so minutes were SO intense! A tsunami comes out of nowhere and you feel the panic under water – similar to the movie 2012. But after that, you pretty much get whip lash from the sudden decrease in pace of the movie.

You can see the Tsunami here:

George (Damon) is a psychic who denies his gift and tries to live a normal life. He eventually meets Melanie (Bryce Dallas Howard) who pushes him to give her a reading which abruptly ends the date… We never see Melanie for the rest of the film. Which was actually a blessing in disguise because Howard did a terrible job of acting – all hands and awkward pauses… rather jarring actually.

Melanie (Bryce Dallas Howard) and George (Matt Damon)

There are three story lines that intertwine which could have been effective if it wasn’t so damn slow and predictable. It really was obvious because after you find out George is a psychic and how he got his powers, you can fit the puzzle very quickly. Because you know that whoever dies in the film and comes back to life will have these powers, and the people who witness death will somehow find George.

I called it a ‘puzzle’ but it was literally a three-piece puzzle. Where you could figure out the picture before you had even put the pieces together…

Clint Eastwood is a master of light. But the lack of light in every scene made me squint and it ended up not making the film mysterious because it ignored the audience. Like, the lack of light shut the audience out of the scene.

The scenes of the natural disaster and the car crash scenes were very realistic though. I have to give him that.

I am selling this DVD online – I am confident that I will ever waste two hours of my life on this movie again. It was sssoooo boring!!

Unfortunately Matt Damon is in that “We Bought A Zoo” film so it looks as though his awesome days of Good Will Hunting, Saving Private Ryan and The Bourne Identity are sadly over…

Matt Damon – Please pick your films more carefully next time!

Matt Damon – I have not lost faith in you yet!

Jodie’s rating: 2/10

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hereafter

  1. Anastacia says:

    Right…I remember watching this film, but it took watching the trailer to even remind me of it!! Glad to be forgotten!! PS Don’t see ‘We brought a Zoo’ predictable, over sentimental, the best character was the brother (played by Thomas Haden Church) who injected some humor, by the way it’s based on a true story in the UK!! I could rant further, but I’m off track!!…come back Matt Damon all COULD be forgiven!! Love your blog!

  2. Pingback: Goodbye, 2012! | The Film Freak of NZ

Leave a Reply

