21 Jump Street

Directors: Phil Lord and Chris Miller
Writers: Jonah Hill and Michael Bacall
Released: 2012

So it’s not the typical genre that I would watch at the cinema, so my expectations were somewhat low.

However, I am happy to say that this film was certainly a good laugh! I did enjoy it.

I guess it was specifically marketed at the Gen-Y population – I couldn’t see my parents enjoying it, and certainly not anybody younger than me!

It surprised me that it was the same directors as Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs – what a change in genre!! Yet, very well done nonetheless. It reminded me of Hot Fuzz because it mocked the action genre, pointing out typical occurances that would happen in an action film such as when a car would blow up and what would happen etcetera…

My favourite part was when the failed policemen (Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill) were sent to high school undercover thinking that they would have it all under control since they were experienced high schoolers, until they realise that the classical sterotyped groups were all different this time around. So true – something only a recent graduate would truely get.

Johnny Depp makes a surprise appearance too which was… Unexpected…

The scene about The Miranda Rights made me wet my pants it was so funny!
“Uh… You have the right to be an attorney…”
“Did you just say.. You have the right to be an attorney??”
“Well, you do have the right to be an attorney.. If you want to..”

Although some pretty  crude humour and a whole load of swearing, which was definately to be expected, I enjoyed this film. And the only reason why I wouldn’t buy it on DVD would be because I don’t like this genre in general. But this is the best comedy I’ve seen in a while.

Jodie’s rating: 6/10

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 21 Jump Street

  1. Pingback: Goodbye, 2012! | The Film Freak of NZ

  2. Pingback: This is the End | The Film Freak of NZ

Leave a Reply

