The Lost Boys

The teen vampire clan!

Director: Joel T. Schumacher
Writers: Janice Fischer, James Jeremias and Jeffery Boam
Released: 1987

Want to see a real vampire film? This ain’t no glitter-in-the-sunshine crapola! This is the real deal of blood-sucking beasts (that aren’t bad on the eye) and traditional vampire qualities.

It isn’t a full-out horror though. More of a black comedy similar to Shaun of the Dead styles. It includes good lookin’ Kiefer Sutherland in his younger days (if you don’t like vampires, you will after seeing Kiefer), and my favourite Dianne Weist who plays the mother of a comic book enthusiast – turned vampire hunter and his brother – turned vampire. Talk about family feuds!

I have to mention Nanook – he’s the Huskie and I have loved that name ever since I watched this film. Apparently the dog was inspired by Nana in Peter Pan.

So it goes through all of the stereotypical vampire qualities, but it’s funny because they make you aware of the stereotypes. Intolerance to garlic, growth of fangs, demon dogs to guard the vampires during the day, motorbikes and, of course, being unable to tolerate sunlight. Or they’ll burn. (Not sparkle)

I love the characters. Michael Emerson (Jason Patric) as the protagonist who gets caught up with the “wrong crowd” in their new neighbourhood. Plus, his brother Sam (the late Corey Haim) who makes friends with brothers Edgar and Alan Frog (Corey Feldman and Jamison Newlander) who chase down the vampires using their extensive knowledge of comic book characters as a guide.

The vampire hunters! Armed with comic book knowledge

I love the soundtrack! I mean, it’s certainly eighties musicbut it’s pretty powerful and chilling songs that I really enjoy – even for a devoted sixties fan.

A fantastic film! A classic. Not too gory or scary, not too light hearted and shallow. A fun film for a wide audience. Even it’s just for the hard core 80’s permed hair.

I’m not planning on ruining my love of The Lost Boys by watching the sequel…

Jodie’s rating: 7/10

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Lost Boys

  1. Anastasia says:

    One of my favs!!! Thanks for the review – yummy!!

  2. Pingback: Twilight | The Film Freak of NZ

  3. Pingback: Edward Scissorhands | The Film Freak of NZ

  4. Pingback: Goodbye, 2012! | The Film Freak of NZ

  5. Pingback: Council House Opera – Warme | NZ Film Freak

  6. Pingback: A Few Good Men | NZ Film Freak

Leave a Reply

