The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

Written: Screenplay: Eric Roth, Short story: F. Scott Fitzgerald
Directed: David Fincher (Fight Club, Panic Room, The Social Network…)
Released: 2008/2009
Starring: Cate Blanchett and Brad Pitt

So, I have owned this DVD for a while now and I really love it. Although I do remember the hesitation I had toward it because it was a deep and meaningful movie with… Brad Pitt in it.

Unfortunately I had not seen Fight Club and 12 Monkeys before I saw Benjamin Button, so I had no idea of his acting capabilities. I only had the handful of average movies he had starred in and gossip columns about the latest child he had adopted to judge him by.

Brad Pitt was certainly impressive, though. I’ll be the first to admit that he is in no way on my list of favourite actors. However, it did make me realise that if you ignore the publicity, the personal information that is blown out of proportion by the media, and his ridiculous long hair that screams “I DON’T WANT TO GROW UP!!”, he definitely has some talent in there!

But ultimately, this film is thought-provoking and fantastic! It is in no way a light-hearted or an easy watch, but certainly one that you should see when you have a night to yourself.

If you love Forrest Gump (screenplay also written by Eric Roth) and Big Fish, you’ll enjoy this. Just like those films, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is an insightful biographical recollection of a fascinating character, whose life stories and moral outlook is inspirational to say the least.

Sandra and Edward

Benjamin Button is about a man who physically ages backwards but still ultimately grows up like any ‘normal’ man. Which does remind me of Forrest Gump; “What is normal anyway?” and Big Fish; “My muscles and my bones couldn’t keep up with my body’s ambition…”. It explores the life skills and influences that mould one’s character into who they fundamentally are.

Forrest Gump and Jenny

The saying “an old soul” comes to mind what talking about Benjamin Button.

Of course, who one turns out to be ultimately depends on the sort of experiences that they encounter, and Benjamin Button turns out to be a very average kind of guy – just like Forrest Gump and Edward Bloom – it’s just that their amazing life stories make them admirable and interesting.

Benjamin Button and Daisy

Just like listening to a grandparent’s war stories; ordinary people in unordinary situations.

I think although parallels can be drawn from the likes of Forrest Gump and Big Fish, the innocence has been extracted from Benjamin Button’s story. Perhaps this make it more realistic. Although it is certainly a darker tale.

The special effects are certainly something to marvel at. Because it is about a man who ages backwards, the physical look of each stage from an elderly baby to a youthful man is remarkable and realistic.

This movie explores personal identity, beliefs, motivations and pressures that makes people who they are. There are constant references to fate which I find intriguing; “you never know what’s comin’ for you”.

A great and inspirational story to say the least.

Jodie’s rating: 9/10

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

  1. Pingback: Forrest Gump | The Film Freak of NZ

  2. Pingback: Big Fish | The Film Freak of NZ

  3. Pingback: Goodbye, 2012! | The Film Freak of NZ

  4. Pingback: The Help | The Film Freak of NZ

  5. Pingback: The Great Gatsby | The Film Freak of NZ

  6. Pingback: The Jane Austen Book Club | The Film Freak of NZ

  7. Pingback: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty | The Film Freak of NZ

  8. Pingback: Hidden Figures | NZ Film Freak

Leave a Reply

