Wreck-It Ralph

ralph4

Directed by: Rich Moore
Written by: Rich Moore, Phil Johnston and Jim Reardon
Released: November 2012
Featuring: John C. Reilly, [the awesome] Jane Lynch and Sarah Silverman

Not knowing that this animation was in fact aimed at a younger audience, I was rather disappointed/bored. I know what you’re thinking, of course it’s a childish movie – it’s animation about video games.

But let me draw your attention to the likes for Ice Age (the first one), Toy Story (1, 2 and 3) and Brave. Wreck-It Ralph was in no way on par with the likes of these animated features.

wreck-it-ralph-game-coming-from-activision-and-disney-interactiveWreck-It Ralph is a ‘bad guy’ in a standard arcade machine, always out-shined by the Ned Flanders-like figure, Fix-It Felix. Ralph does not want to be the demonised figure and escapes into an arcade machine adjacent to his to win a medal and feel the sense of reward that Felix gets. But, if Ralph is killed in a game that is not his own, he will not get another life and it’s game over forever.

However, I must say, this setting has not really been done before. The mixture of nostalgic arcade games (for the parents) and the fun, colourful and exciting characters to appeal to the kids, this moral-drenched story is a fine cartoon for the holidays.

Very clever graphics that keep it ‘accurate’, such as the much more basic games having very basic graphics.

I thought it was quite a long movie which would be a draw back for children… Especially being in a cinema where we were surrounded by children, trust me, they let you know a movie is too long after about an hour…

So, Wreck-It Ralph was not quite what I expected, the target audience was not that clear, perhaps. But I can appreciate it nevertheless.

Perfect for the school holidays. A “high score” for many children and some older people too, I’m sure. A bearable film for parents.

Jodie’s rating: 5/10

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wreck-It Ralph

  1. Pingback: Au revoir, 2013! | The Film Freak of NZ

  2. Pingback: The Lego Movie | NZ Film Freak

  3. Pingback: Big Hero 6 | NZ Film Freak

Leave a Reply

