My Fave Character: Bridget Jones

Bridget_Jones

What do you think of when somebody mentions Bridget Jones?

“A verbally-incontinent tragic spinster who smokes like a chimney and drinks like a fish?”

Yes, although a somewhat blunt description of the Bridget Jones’ character, I do feel like that she is also a role model. She represents a group of women in their thirties with a career but no partner, with bad habits and frequent input in their love life from “vulgar mothers”.

Suddenly I realised that I was going to live a life where my major relationship was with a bottle of wine…

Sure, I can’t really relate to Bridget’s generation or situation… Yet. But like many young women, struggling to succeed in life, Bridget Jones acts as a role model. Particularly when making the right decisions in relationships, in Bridget’s case, between tempting (Daniel Cleaver) and sensible (Mark Darcy) choices.

“[I like you] just as you are”? Not thinner? Not cleverer? Not with slightly bigger breasts or a slightly smalls nose?
-Bridget’s friends discussing Mark Darcy’s comment.

If anything, watching/reading Bridget Jones’ Diary makes you feel better about making a total arse of yourself in public. It’s sort of comforting in a weird way knowing that a lovable and fun character also does stupid things and everything still tends to work out fine her anyway.

…you seem to go out of your way to try to make me feel like a complete idiot… and you really needn’t bother. I already feel like an idiot most of the time anyway.

The film adaptations were convincingly played by American Renee Zellweger whose English accent was flawless. The dreamy Colin Firth played Mark Darcy, and quite appropriately, the stuck-up and smug Daniel Cleaver was effortlessly portrayed by Hugh Grant.

A down to earth, bog standard, nothing-special woman who makes every painfully average woman feel a little better about themselves. It’s okay to be ordinary, clumsy, chubby and single, thanks to Bridget.

Jodie.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All My Random Thoughts, My Idols and Faves and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Fave Character: Bridget Jones

  1. Pingback: My Fave Character: Miranda | The Film Freak of NZ

  2. Pingback: My Fave Character: Maggie Jacobs | NZ Film Freak

  3. Pingback: Morning Glory | NZ Film Freak

  4. Pingback: Come on Girl – AJ Smooth | NZ Film Freak

  5. Pingback: My fave characters: Jess and Nick in New Girl | NZ Film Freak

Leave a Reply

