Burlesque

burlesqueDirector: Steven Antin
Writer: Susannah Grant. Screenplay by Steven Antin and Diablo Cody
Released: November 2010
Featuring: Christina Aguilera, Cher, Eric Dane, Cam Gigandet, Kristen Bell, Julianne Hough, Alan Cumming, Peter Gallagher, Stanley Tucci, Dianna Agron

Amazing costumes, with themes ranging from the classic 1940s to the 1960s.

Amazing costumes, with themes ranging from the classic 1940s to the 1960s.

So, Burlesque is pretty much a lighter, chick flick version of Moulin Rouge. It is an upbeat, modern story with back to back songs that make you want to get up and dance.

Christina Aguilera is a singer who I admire for her talent, yet if I am honest, I do not enjoy her music.

She does an amazing job during the scenes where she is performing on stage. However, for the most part her acting is much to be desired. Her squeaky voice gets a little on nerves considering she has such a deep, powerful singing voice.

Burlesque-tucciThe same goes for Cher, her acting was average… But so was her auto-tuned voice. I’m not convinced that she should really be classed as “a legend”… I swear “Life After Love” is the only successful song of hers that I can think of.

Stanley Tucci is one of my favourite actors – he is great in this movie as usual!

burlesqueCAI don’t love the songs enough to buy the soundtrack. But there are a couple that are pretty catchy! Unfortunately, Christina Aguilera’s voice is so distinct that sometimes her improvisation during the songs can become irritating. Hence why I have never bought an album of hers.

Following a typical chick-flick structure, the ending is no surprise. Over used morals of “do what you love”, “just do it” and “don’t give up” drowns this movie. But it is a film which is not supposed to be much more than enjoyable.

Looking for a pick me up? I think this high-energy, fun film will do the trick!

(Moulin Rouge + Glee = Burlesque)
Jodie’s rating: 6/10

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Burlesque

  1. Pingback: Au revoir, 2013! | The Film Freak of NZ

  2. Pingback: Burlesque: Just another Musical Movie | Off The Wall

Leave a Reply

