Bridesmaids

bridesmaids-movie-poster-2011-1020695657

Director: Paul Feig
Writer: Annie Mumolo and Kristen Wiig
Released: May 2011
Featuring: Kristen Wiig, Maya Rudolph, Rose Byrne, Melissa McCarthy, Wendi McLendon-Covey, Ellie Kemper, Chris O’Dowd and Jill Clayburgh

I was put off of seeing this movie when it first came out because it just looked like The Hangover – but the female version. However, after seeing a few scenes of it over the last couple of years, I decided to buy it in the sales.

And boy am I glad! I haven’t laughed this hard in ages!bridesmaidsengagement It is a truly hilarious journey that these wacky characters go through – any one of them could have been the leading lady.

Nothing is going well for Annie (Kristen Wigg). Her bakery closed down due to the recession, she’s in her mid-30s and a hopeless spinster. Thankfully she still has her best friend, Lillian (Maya Rudolph), though.bridesmaids-annielillian

Annie gets her heartbroken, however, when Lillian gets engaged and in the process of planning her wedding, finds a new best friend, Helen (Rose Byrne). Helen appears superior to Annie in every way. Their rivalry eventually gets Annie kicked out of the wedding planning.

Their friendship is so well portrayed – I swear they must be best friends in real life, with the quirks and inside jokes that anyone who has had a super close friend will recognise. Anybody who has had a close friend move away or move on will totally get the pain and loss that Annie experiences in this.

"I had a dream last night that wewent down. It was terrible. Youwere in it."

“I had a dream last night that we
went down. It was terrible. You
were in it.”

Unlike many comedies, the characters in Bridesmaids are more than two-dimensional. They are all relatable… Or at least the main character Annie is, who is a Bridget Jones-esk character… Just without the job.

Kristen Wigg is an incredible actor. After seeing her in Whip It I thought she was pretty cool, but her performance is so convincing in Bridesmaids that she is definitely one of my new favourite actors.

The other characters including the loyal yet totally bizarre Megan (Melissa McCarthy) who is absolutely hilarious, straight up and blunt.

I'm glad he's single because I'm going to climb that like a tree

“I’m glad he’s single because I’m going to climb that like a tree”

“I fell off a cruise ship… I’m not gonna say I survived, I’m gonna say I thrived. I met a dolphin down there. I swear to god that dolphin looked not at me, but into my soul, into my goddamn soul Annie, and said ‘I’m saving you, Megan.’ Not with his mouth, but he said it… I’m assuming telepathically.”

Becca (Ellie Kemper) is a soft-spoken newly wed who has some of the best lines with fantastically comical delivery.

You smell like pine needles and have a face like sunshine!

brynngilbridesmaidsA ton of crazy hilarious events happen along the way. Including food poisoning (which was actually super gross…), as well as very interesting encounters with Annie’s room mates, siblings Brynn (Rebel Wilson – I love her in Pitch Perfect) and Gil (Matt Lucas)…

BRYNN: At first I did not know that it was your diary. I thought it was a very sad, hand-written book. But then because of the personal details and the bits that mentioned Gil and Brynn…

The soundtrack is pretty awesome, with a song that I first heard on Bridesmaids (that has now put on repeat) called “Paper Bag” by Fiona Apple. Check it out!

This film is clearly not for everyone though. It has a decent amount of swearing and a lot of sexual references so be careful who you watch it with.

For the first quarter of the movie I felt a little uncertain and maybe a little uncomfortable with the crude humour. But putting it all in perspective now, it is a hilarious story that is written and performed extremely well.

Loved it!
Jodie’s rating: 8/10

Can I just say that half of the dialogue in this trailer is not actually in the film… Nevertheless, the facials in this films are so funny!

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bridesmaids

  1. Pingback: Au revoir, 2013! | The Film Freak of NZ

  2. Pingback: Best Movie Meltdowns | NZ Film Freak

  3. Pingback: Big Hero 6 | NZ Film Freak

Leave a Reply

