I Put a Spell on You – Nina Simone

ninasimoneI have rediscovered this sixties gem!

It begins like an intro to a James Bond film with the orchestra.

Nina’s voice is so distinctive! It’s like she’s bantering with the absolutely spine-tingling saxophone. It sounds like they’re just jamming.

Her first line is “I put a spell on you” and it sounds like she is bitterly angry with someone… You can so tell from her voice!

Nina has such emotion in her voice. I can totally imagine her just getting all up in some dude’s face and being all like, “And I don’t care if you don’t want me! I’m yours right now!!” *saxophone which gives you shivers*

It is such an emotive song! I’ve got it on repeat at the moment… Really listen to the lyrics, Nina delivers them like she’s really raging at somebody.

I put a spell on you
‘Cause you’re mine!

You better stop the things you do
I ain’t lyin’
No I ain’t lyin’!

You know I can’t stand it
You’re runnin’ around
You know better daddy
I can’t stand it cause you put me down
Yeah, Yeah

I put a spell on you
Because you’re mine
You’re mine!

*epic sax solo*

I love you, I love you, I love you
I love you anyhow
And I don’t care!
If you don’t want me
I’m yours right now

You hear me
I put a spell on you
Because you’re mine!

So amazing. Check out the live versions on youtube!

Jodie.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Music Reviews, Awesome Songs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

