Thor: The Dark World

Thor-The-Dark-World-Wide-ImageDirector: Alan Taylor
Writers: Don Payne and Robert Rodat. Based on Thor by Stan Lee, Larry Lieber and Jack Kirby
Released: November, 2013
Starring: Chris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, Tom Hiddleston, Anthony Hopkins, Stellan Skarsgård, Idris Elba, Christopher Eccleston (the ninth Dr. Who!), Kat Dennings…

I haven’t seen the 2011 prequel, but Thor: The Dark World was still entertaining.

Obviously this is an action-packed, exciting and a surprisingly funny superhero movie which is bound to be a hit with most.

I saw this movie twice, and I certainly enjoyed it more the second time around – which I think is common for superhero films. The first watch is just about the storyline, but the second time is about the characters.

loki-gets-a-new-character-poster-for-thor-the-dark-world-144284-a-1378796569-470-75Loki is my favourite character for sure! He is vindictive and vicious with a quirky comedic element throughout most of his dialogue.

The best thing about Thor: A Dark World is the self-awareness of the characters. The references to Captain America and, my personal favourite, when Loki says that a comment repeated by various characters will “become a line”.

I really like the lighter side of Thor. Marvel films don’t tend to take themselves too seriously, which is cool.

Personally, I don’t think Chris Hemsworth is hugely attractive, but I am aware I’m in the minority. If you’re keen for a bit of eye-candy, you will appreciate this film.

Dark_ElvesBut, if you’re wanting a pretty cool supernatural storyline with frightening villains, then you’ll be quite pleased with the twists and action scenes in this sequel. They jump through time and space which is ah-maz-ing. Any time travel enthusiasts will appreciate these elements.

I love the costumes of the dark elves – so creepy! Also, the environment the characters fought in were amazing – Iceland scenery of volcanic ash wastelands being the most impressive.

Worth a watch!
Jodie’s rating: 7.5/10

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thor: The Dark World

  1. Popeye says:

    In a world where super heroes seem to arrive one a week, this movie is not to be missed. Thor hammers home another hit – and the hits keep on comin’. Good fun, good review. Two thumbs up!

  2. Pingback: Au revoir, 2013! | The Film Freak of NZ

Leave a Reply

