Top 8: First Class Films About Travelling

2013-07-30-secret_life_of_walter_mitty-e1375223868319
I know I need to stop going on about it! But The Secret Life of Walter Mitty is a fantastically inspiring film. It really did make me want to travel. Coincidently, Iceland is my dream location anyway. So that was just the cherry on top.

This got me thinking what other films make you want to quit your day job and get lost in the wilderness.

131738_movies-horses-into-the-wild-1920x1200-wallpaper_www.wall321.com_97Into the Wild
A film that keeps coming up in conversation when I talk about travelling films. I have seen the first 40-odd minutes of it, but it didn’t quite grasp my imagination… Perhaps I should give it another shot though. Still shots taken from the film look extraordinary. (Finally reviewed it).

Midnight+in+Paris

Midnight in Paris
It is a film I marvelled over. It’s a perfect marriage between the environment of a magical and unfamiliar city, plus a fantastical and romantic storyline. Can’t go wrong with a bit of time travel too! The mysterious and enchanting themes will make anyone want to book a flight to Paris.


EastPrayLoveBikePhoto
Eat, Pray, Love
Now, I need to disclose that this was so disappointing! I thought it was going to be a deep and meaningful tale of self-discovery. However, it was pretty much a chick flick based in three different countries; Italy, Bali and India. But I have to say, I did buy into the dream. To take off for a year! What an experience.

2527_5Up In The Air
I know, I know, you pretty much only see airports in this film. But my imagination was harnessed by this movie! Turning up to an airport, picking a place, and going. No strings attached, no worries, just leaving everything behind.

tumblr_lkdo69WWs31qgnbmm

Water For Elephants
Have you ever fantasised about joining a travelling circus? Perhaps it’s not a common dream now days, but I can definitely relate to it. Living rough, never being in the same place twice or staying in one location for too long. The people around you, mesmerised and spellbound by the circus performances.

cemetery-junction-2Cemetery Junction
It’s all about escaping the ordinary life. After being inspired by Julie, a young aspiring photographer, Freddie realises he doesn’t want to live in a sleepy town either. He wants to go on an epic adventure. The film is about him building up the courage to leave; to ditch a town of no potential, to go around the world. It’s a grand idea to ponder.

chocolatChocolat
About a mother and daughter who wander from place to place, finding towns to warm up with chocolate treats. They’re always on the road, floating from town to town, until they finally settle. It is more about the people than the places to be honest, but it’s a magical film with beautiful locations nevertheless.

Jodie.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All My Random Thoughts, My Idols and Faves, Take Five and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top 8: First Class Films About Travelling

  1. liamdoesfilm says:

    I loved Walter Mitty it made a huge impact on me that I don’t think it quite made on others, likewise it made me want to travel but not only that it made me want to stop and notice the beauty around us, in people, landscapes etc. I reviewed Into The Wild a while back, I love the film personally, again inspiring and really powerful! Should definitely give it another go, good post!!

  2. Steve says:

    Where’s my passport?

  3. juventina010 says:

    I’ve seen them all. Some are nice movies indeed. Into the wild is one of my all time favourite as it is full of poetry, wonderful landscape and makes you reflect on the real values of life. Midnight in Paris is indeed beautiful, but it’s too bad that Paris isn’t at all like that anymore:( among other movies that made me want to travel: lord of the rings for the majestic landscapes of New Zealand; and Roman Holiday, a classic movie for romantic hearts in the marvellous Rome

  4. Pingback: Sayonara, 2014! | NZ Film Freak

Leave a Reply

