Piano Man – Billy Joel

hqdefaultThis song is as American and as inspiring as the iconic the Don Mclean song American Pie and the Bob Dylan song Times are a-Changin’.

Sing us a song, you’re the piano man
Sing us a song tonight
Well, we’re all in the mood for a melody
And you’ve got us feelin’ alright

I love songs that tell stories. In Piano Man, Billy Joel is playing the piano is a bar on a Saturday night. In each verse he sings about a regular customer. My favourite story is about the barman who is the nicest of men, but wants to be anywhere but here…

Now John at the bar is a friend of mine
He gets me my drinks for free
And he’s quick with a joke or to light up your smoke
But there’s some place that he’d rather be

He says, “Bill, I believe this is killing me.”
As the smile ran away from his face
“Well I’m sure that I could be a movie star
If I could get out of this place”

Billy Joel has a gorgeously soft, yet strong voice. I heard his song Vienna  on the movie 13 going on 30 (aka: Suddenly 30). I looked it up on YouTube and I recognised the song named Piano Man on the side of the page.

The final verse is so powerful!

And the piano, it sounds like a carnival!
And the microphone smells like a beer
And they sit at the bar and put bread in my jar
And say, “Man, what are you doin’ here?”

Give it a listen!
I love the music video too…
Jodie.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Music Reviews, Awesome Music Videos, Awesome Songs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

