A Great Speech: Touchscreen

y-GAx845QaOck.480x360I’ve been getting into ‘Poetry Slams’ which are basically poetry competitions but with the energy and intricacy of rap battles.

I posted one called Shrinking Women a while ago which was incredible.

Since then, I have found many others, with this one standing out called Touchscreen.

It’s about the lack of physical touch in our technology-drowned world, and our desire for our more primal and natural interaction to return.

This is incredibly well written and delivered.

…Apple picking has always come at a great cost
iPod iMac iPhone iChat
I can do all of these things without making eye contact…

…so when my phone goes off of my hip iTouch iTouch iTouch and iTouch because in a world
Where laughter is never heard
And voices are only read
we’re so desperate to feel
that we hope our Technologic can reverse the universe
until the screens touch us back
and maybe one day they will
when our technology is advanced enough …
to make us human again

Jodie.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All My Random Thoughts, The Greatest Speeches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Great Speech: Touchscreen

  1. Pingback: A Great Speech: Look Up | NZ Film Freak

Leave a Reply

