Chinese Penhold (short film)

Attachment-1

Directed by: Gabriel Sunday
Written by: Steve Sanders and Gabriel Sunday

What a glorious film.

Chinese Penhold premiered at the 2010 Sundance Film Festival.

I thoroughly enjoyed this five minute gem. In the opening scenes it reminded me of the film Peaceful Warrior. Certainly carrying similar themes of self-competition and distractions in life.

It follows a man Jake Scribner (Jake Miller) whose underlying passion for competition clashes with his girlfriend who isn’t the nicest of people.

Finding himself in a worn-out flat at a grotty party, he plays an intense game of ping-pong. He fights against his inner voice, his distracting girlfriend and struggling to stay focussed on the game at play.

I loved the parallel storyline of the white dog and what he represents. There is so much symbolism and so much thought gone into the use of colour, lighting and a fantastic amount of time put into the editing.

In my eyes,  at least one of the morals of this story is: to stay in the game and don’t over-think it. In other words, fight for what is important to you, don’t let anyone stop you, but don’t take it all too seriously, because you’ll overlook the point of it.

(Although I’m sure I’ve barely scratched the surface of unpacking this film).

I really enjoyed this short film. A lot of work and effort has clearly gone into the storyline despite the lack of dialogue.

A delightful watch!

Jodie.

Book me to independently review your favourite song, music video or film here.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chinese Penhold (short film)

  1. Pingback: Sayonara, 2014! | NZ Film Freak

Leave a Reply

