High – Shid Latta

HIGH_ARTWORKRight. So I’m not used to this genre of music, so admittedly I had to do my research. I listen to 50s and 60s music, so the popular names of the hip hop scene go right over my head a lot of the time (I’m embarrassed to say)!

So! This song that I was asked to reviewed is called High. It is by a rap artist named Shid Latta, and it features Tove Lo and it’s produced by Hippie Sabotage. So this is a remix of a remix basically.

The original Tove Lo song was remixed by Hippie Sabotage into this song (which I think is pretty awesomely done). And Shid Latta recreated it by replacing the versus with his own.

This is Shid Latta’s first single on his upcoming album: Love + Other Drugs due to be released on 24 November.

DSCF1600Although the lyrics are for the most part quite rude, it certainly matches the subject matter of getting high. His contribution to the song basically frames Tove Lo’s chorus. In all seriousness though, it’s actually quite a sad song when accompanied by the original music video. It reminds me of Requiem for a Dream.

Shid Latta (AKA Rashid Latta) is a hip hop artist from Baltimore. He prides himself on not being a ‘typical rapper with tales of money, drugs, sex and streets’.

I don’t really identify with this music, but I can certainly appreciate the skills Shid Latta has for writing an rhyming. I know it’s not something everyone can do, nor be successful at doing. So I say, good on him!

For those hip hop lovers out there, I think this will be your jam. It’s damn catchy.

Check it out on soundcloud.

Jodie.

Here is Shid Latta’s Facebook, Twitter and website.

 

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Music Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to High – Shid Latta

  1. Pingback: Chandelier – Sia | NZ Film Freak

Leave a Reply

