Best Movie Meltdowns

lee-j-cobb-12-angry-men-1957-_131296-fli_1364480775Disclaimer: Contains frequent bad language!

I’m sure everybody has fantasised about flipping out. Here are some characters who release their wrath on our behalf.

“I didn’t get to try this F***ING COOKIE!”
I’m sure you all remember Annie’s (Kristen Wiig’s) flip-out in Bridesmaids. I can so relate. So hilarious.

“What is WRONG with you people!?”
Young Adult
is a wicked film by the same director who did Juno. Charlize Theron plays her delusional character so convincingly.

“That’s all you’ve got, lady! Two wrong feet and f***ing ugly shoes!”
Erin Brockovich is scattered with sassy one-liners. I love this scene though. Julia Roberts is fantastic in this.

“You were HITTING ON HER!”
Prudie’s (Emily Blunt’s) emotional break-down is so well done in The Jane Austen Book Club. (You’re never gonna get me to shut-up about this movie.) I can’t find the scene on YouTube, but those of you who have seen the movie will know what I’m talking about.

Prudie’s break-down is just after her mother’s funeral where she thinks her husband was flirting with a girl she went to high school with. Just imagine Prudie punching you in the face with emotion as you read the script:

Dean: I talked to her… I talked to her for like five minutes.

Prudie: Longer. Longer, Dean. And with those ridiculous plastic boobs. Is that what you go for?

Dean: Prudie, you know, I was just trying to be nice to your friend. Okay.

Prudie: Chloe Baher is not my friend, Dean. Chloe Baher came to my mother’s funeral to gloat. “Ha-ha! Your mother’s dead.”   And you hit on her! You hit on her!

Dean: I was not hitting on her.

Prudie: You know, when I was in the 10th grade, I wrote an entire paper on Julius Caesar in iambic pentameter. And Chloe Baher removed it from my locker and she read it aloud to the whole class. And everyone laughed at me.

Dean: Baby, high school’s over.

Prudie: High school’s never over.

“No dad, what about you!?”
Of course I couldn’t leave out The Breakfast Club. Finding out what it’s like in the Bender family household.

“I’m in the dark, here!”
I love Al Pacino’s character, Colonel Slade in Scent of a Woman. He’s blind and “can’t chew the leather any more.”

“A human life doesn’t mean as much to them as it does to us!”
You know what. 12 Angry Men is one of my favourite movies of all time. Don’t write it off because it’s old or black and white. It’s so powerful. Look it up! This is a great scene:

I’m sure you can think of more. But these are a few of my favourites.

Jodie.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All My Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Best Movie Meltdowns

  1. Pingback: Young Adult | NZ Film Freak

Leave a Reply

