My Idol: Karl Pilkington

Karl Pilkington - head like an orangeYes, we all know he has a head as round as an orange and we know he’s not the brightest bulb in the tanning bed. But he certainly comes out with some very interesting views of the world.

Parrots have gone a bit quiet since pirates have gone.

He’s really funny on The Ricky Gervais Show. But my favourite video of him is when he talks about the fridge he has to replace here:

You may have seen him in Idiot Abroad. He’s so comically underwhelmed with everything.

“I came face-to-face with a gorilla which was quite good, but it was a 10-hour trek in bad weather, up hills, covered in mud, with mosquitoes everywhere and when we got there the gorilla’s just sat there doing nowt.”

Bullshit man - Karl PilkingtonAnd he comes up with pretty amazing superhero ideas… Like Bullshit Man (check it out on youtube):

I’d be bullshit man. There’s so many meetings going on where, you know people are bullshitting. I’d just like to walk in. I wouldn’t need a special costume, just dressed like this and I would fly in and I’d go, “Bullshit. He’s talking bullshit.” And they’d go, “Oh. He’s Bullshit Man.” And I’d go, “Yea. It is Bullshit Man. You’re talking bullshit.” And eventually, people would stop talking bullshit. Anything that’s going on in the world: A bloke selling a car that’s knackered, and he’s going to say it’s a great one, and it’s – *whoosh* – “Bullshit!”

You won't get anything done by planning - Karl PilkingtonI like him because on the surface, you could say he’s dim. But, I actually think he’s  interesting. Plus, he makes me feel better about saying stupid things. He’s taught me that you can get away with saying anything if you’re committed and keep a straight, gormless, emotionless face.

“If you keep talking, your mouth will come out with stuff.”

I like Karl Pilkington. He makes me feel happy. I just want to hang out with him for a coffee. And  stare at him while he talks about his ideas and perceptions of the world. He seems like a kind and genuine person.

Jodie.

PS. Here is a photo of my uncle. I can see some resemblance. And before you ask, ‘yes’, he is holding a bag of cheese.
Karl Pilkington lokkalike

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in My Idols and Faves and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Idol: Karl Pilkington

  1. Pingback: Sayonara, 2014! | NZ Film Freak

  2. Pingback: David Brent: Life of the Road | NZ Film Freak

Leave a Reply

