Sayonara, 2014!

The Beatles wave while walking off of the plane
Three years of blogging on NZ Film Freak. Not a bad achievement!

I graduated from uni! (Thank Christ for that.)

Jodie’s graduation: I got caught in the rain… Hence my hair looking the way it does.

I have completed my Bachelor of Communications degree, majoring in journalism, which has led me to amazing opportunities such as working for a community newspaper, and a legit film reviewing site called Flicks.

I have rediscovered my love for photography, and creative writing – not sure if you’ve read my poems… They get a wee bit crazy pretty quickly.

I’ve also found a previously unexplored knack of mine doing voice overs. My voice is being played on podcasts and indie radio stations all around the world! Very exciting. Most of them via Fiverr.

Just get a job.Since graduating, the question I have been asked like a broken record is:

“So… what next?”

And fair enough; what am I going to do with my life?

(Perhaps university doesn’t prepare you for answering this giant question because they want you to feel so overwhelmed with the real world that you end up turning around and enrolling in an expensive post-grad course.)

I do take inspiration from movies when having to make a big decision. For example, after watching Julie & Julia I decided to create this very blog!

In the case of post-uni life, I seriously considered doing what the main character did in Into the Wild. But that was before I watched the ending.

Wendy in Peter Pan Disney cartoon- But Mother, I don't want to grow up.I wasn’t smart enough in uni for my life to turn out like Good Will Hunting. Nor was I grunge or cool enough to be Becca in Pitch Perfect.

However, I shall find my path as a grown-up!

I’m going to continue Film Freaking, and I hope to work in the exciting world of radio! Perhaps reviewing films, or writing on websites or talking about music or…

I love the idea of working in radio, (not just because the guys on The Boat that Rocked looked like they had so much fun), but also because I’ve become a bit more familiar with it since doing voice overs.

Also, I’ve been listening to a lot of The Ricky Gervais Show, which features Karl Pilkington. Working around great, charismatic people seems like a grand thing to be a part of.

Enough of me, though!

2014 has brought us a lot of animated films, and a few more epics like last year! But ultimately, it’s a mixed bag.

I haven’t reviewed an awful lot this year, so I do apologise! But I have to say, I think last year’s assortment was better.

2014 reviewed movies:

Gold, Jerry, Gold!
9.5/10
Thelma & Louise

9/10
Interstellar

Hoochie Mama!
8.5/10
Captain America: The Winter Soldier

8/10
The Way, Way Back

Nightcrawler
Her

7.5/10
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Young Adult

7/10
Fault in our Stars

Frozen
Julie & Julia

Giddy-Up!
6.5/10
American Hustle

6/10
Hercules

5/10
The Lego Movie

22 Jump Street

Yada, Yada, Yada…
4.5/10
Deliver Us From Evil

4/10
Lucy

A Show About Nothing!
2/10
Transformers: Age of Extinction

Indie films:
Sunshine
Tissue
Chinese Penhold
Love Thy Neighbour
Pizza Shop
Broken Record
The Louise Log
Wild Girl Waltz
Reza Abdoh – Theatre Visionary
Lost Angeles
Príncipe 69
Film Premiere at Cricket World Cup
The One Minute Fly Show (Web Series)
Invert: Origin of the Telepathic Hero

Expect to see more posts on my blog, anyway. I love getting good or bad feedback, so please vote on the polls, comment on my posts and like my Facebook page. It means a lot!

Good luck for 2015, guys.
Jodie.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All My Random Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sayonara, 2014!

  1. jackie426 says:

    Happy New Year, Jodie. Every happiness and success in whatever you decide to do next- You will be AWESOME!

  2. Pingback: Good riddance, 2015! | NZ Film Freak

Leave a Reply

