Elastic Heart – Sia

Elastic Heart music video SiaI am so slow to the party.

This song was on The Hunger Games: Catching Fire soundtrack, and boy is it powerful.

I think the song can speak for itself, but it’s a chilling story of the singer’s two emotional versions of herself. Each side wrestles to become dominant.

I imagine it’s the side that’s strong, flexible, and can cope with trauma, versus the side that’s negative and fragile:

I’ve got thick skin and an elastic heart
But your blade it might be too sharp
I’m like a rubberband until you pull too hard
I may snap and I move fast
But you won’t see me fall apart
‘Cos I’ve got an elastic heart

Gorgeous voice.

The music video is equally as powerful – but has been rather controversial.Shia in Elastic Heart Sia music video

This concept of dominance is portrayed by 28-year-old actor Shia LaBeouf and 12-year-old Maddie Ziegler through interpretive dance. It is directed by Sia and Daniel Askill, and choreographed by Ryan Heffington.

Wearing nude-coloured clothing, they dance inside a giant cage, that I assume represents Sia’s head. Ziegler being the protective, flexible side, LaBeouf portraying the aggressive and restricted side.

They both try to fight to be the one that gets outside the cage and be expressed. But at the same time they do want to work as one and get out together. Unfortunately, opposite emotions can’t be expressed at the same time.

Shia LeBeouf in Sia music video(Toward the end of the video, Ziegler softly hits LaBeouf on his forehead. Each time she does so he changes his expression to show the emotions he represents: scared (he’s holding his breath – claustrophobia?), sarcastic, angry and depressed.

Some (in the twittersphere) are saying the video is referring to paedophilia, or could offend victims because a young girl is dancing with an older man.

It is a video that looks primal and raw, but I don’t really think it’s sexual at all.

Elastic Heart music video with Shia LeBeaufPersonally, I didn’t realise how young the girl was until I read about it. However, it hasn’t changed my view on the video. I find it creative and expressive. But I suppose you can read into anything if you have an angle in mind.

I think the video shows an incredible amount of talent and power to match an energetic song.

Sia has since tweeted an apology to those who were offended.

All I can say is Maddie and Shia are two of the only actors I felt could play these two warring ‘Sia’ self states. I [apologise] to those who feel triggered by ‘Elastic Heart’. My intention was to create some emotional content, not to upset anybody.

A behind the scenes video of Elastic Heart has been released.

Jodie.

And what it would sound like without music:

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Music Reviews, Awesome Music Videos, Awesome Songs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Elastic Heart – Sia

  1. Pingback: Chandelier – Sia | NZ Film Freak

  2. Pingback: What Are You Like, Rosamund Pike? | NZ Film Freak

Leave a Reply

