The ‘Runaway’ Film Genre

Runaway film genre - Walter Mitty, Telma & Louise, Into the Wild and Wild.I have referenced this unofficial genre in many film reviews of late, so I thought I should dedicate a post to it. Especially since it doesn’t have a Wikipedia page.

Because I made it up.

I did a check list for the genre in Wild. So I’ll copy and past it here, and elaborate.

THE RUNAWAY GENRE GROUND RULES:

  • One or two characters who have suffered trauma
  • Inner-conflict (usually expressed via flashbacks)
  • At least one emotional breakdown
  • Typically involves a marriage break-up or violence
  • Expression of every emotion
  • Writing down of feelings/diary-keeping
  • Genre that is mostly likely to conclude with tragedy (according to unofficial polling)
  • And of course… The act of running away

CLASSIC EXAMPLES OF A RUNAWAY FILM:


Borderline exceptions to the genre:

Now, I love this genre. Sure, I’ve made up the title and the rules, but they are typically wondrous, fantastical, deep, meaningful, adventurous insights into a character.

I love psychology, and these movies tend to play on why we make the decisions we do, and why we interact in the way we do.

Keep an eye out for films of this genre. They’re quite easy to pick.

Jodie.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All My Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The ‘Runaway’ Film Genre

  1. Pingback: Wild | NZ Film Freak

  2. Pingback: Hector and the Search for Happiness | NZ Film Freak

  3. Pingback: Into the Wild | NZ Film Freak

  4. Pingback: Thelma & Louise | NZ Film Freak

  5. movieblort says:

    A recent addition to the genre would be ‘Tracks’ starring Mia Wasikowska. Not a lot happens, but it is great escapism and would certainly fulfil your criteria.

Leave a Reply

