When You Lost Your Situation – David Arn

When You Lost Your Situation - David Arn song reviewThe first thing I thought was ‘Nick Cave’. I think it’s David Arn’s gravelly voice and story-telling songs.

I agree with Arn’s previous critics who say that his strong point is certainly the lyrics.

“When you lost your situation, gypsies went home sick”

When Lost In Your Situation sounds like a song I’d expect to hear on one of my favourite films, Thelma & Louise, or on classic indie stations and films with its lost-sounding guitar and the grounding vocals.

The guitar and deep voice is let down slightly by the organ. If my critique is worth anything, I’d like to accent the pounding heartbeat of the bass guitar,  and enhancing the rich piano. Just to make the song sound ‘solid’ with more depth to the song.

(Or, at least I’d like to see what it sounds like.)

When You Lost Your Situation - David Arn song reviewThese two suggestions are simply to reinforce the intensity of the song. So that  the weight of the deep and bold vocals, guitar and lyrics can be fully supported by the rest of the instruments.

Despite that, I am already a fan of the enchanting, entrancing music of David Arn.

This song is on the album Walking to Dreamland.

I’ve given the album a bit of a listen: It’s sort of country meets dark, soft rock. A really interesting mix of sounds.

Check out the video with the song When You Lost Your Situation below.

If you love his sound too, peruse his sites:
www.davidarn.com
www.facebook.com/DavidArnMusic
Check out his album on iTunes
www.twitter.com/David_Arn

I can tell a lot of time and effort has gone into the video too, fantastic camera work and editing. (I love black and white videos!)

Jodie.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Music Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

