Gone to the Dogs – Billy Roberts and the Rough Riders

Gone to the Dogs - Billy Roberts and the Rough Riders song review

This is the third song I’ve reviewed of Billy Roberts’. Seen It All Before, No More Mr Nice Guy and now Gone to the Dogs.

This latest tune has lived up to the country-rock sound of Billy Roberts and co..

As I’ve mentioned in my previous reviews, the vocals are wee bit flat, in a spoken-word tone. This doesn’t quite live up to the energy of the electric guitar and sliding guitar sound.

Having said that, the classic country -rock genre of Billy Roberts and the Rough Riders remains, leaving their fans surely satisfied.

My favourite element of the band remains – their storytelling. Dark and interesting lyrics for sure.

For the most part, I really enjoyed the songs of Billy Roberts and the Rough Riders. You can check out their YouTube page here:
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-Fj5L70KfWvrhORMjkF6fQ

And their website:
http://billyrobertsandtheroughriders.bandcamp.com/

Jodie.

 

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Music Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gone to the Dogs – Billy Roberts and the Rough Riders

  1. Pingback: Little Johnny – Billy Roberts and the Rough Riders | NZ Film Freak

Leave a Reply

