Arthur Christmas

Arthur Christmas film poster review

Director: Sarah Smith
Writers: Peter Baynham and Sarah Smith
Starring: James McAvoy, Hugh Laurie, Bill Nighy, Jim Broadbent, Imelda Staunton,  Ashley Jensen, Marc Wootton, Laura Linney, Eva Longoria, Ramona Marquez and Michael Palin
Released: November 2011

Only just came across this animated festive feast. I had ignored it when seeing it in the bargain bin for sometime, but with a ‘buy two get one free’ deal on, I found myself struggling to pick the third and free DVD.

Stuck between Alvin and the Chipmunks and Barbie in A Christmas Carol, I reluctantly decided on Arthur Christmas as my free movie.

Expecting it to flow with the usual childish predictability typically associated with G rated festive films, my expectations were raised somewhat when I noticed the cast of some of my favourite UK stars.

Arthur Christmas slippers scene - film reviewJames McAvoy (we named our pet goat ‘Mr. Tumnus’ after McAvoy’s performance as this character in Narnia),
Hugh Laurie (everyone knows him from House, but he will forever be the baddie from 101 Dalmatians to me),
Bill Nighy, Jim Broadbent, Imelda Staunton and Ashley Jensen.

So I stepped into my elf slippers, slipped into my Grinch onesie, and cradled my Santa mug (filled with hot cocoa, spiked with rum, with a disappointing amount of marshmallows).

I got my ticket. I was ready to be a passenger on this one-horse open sleigh ride of festive fun. I was ready to deck the halls with wonder and joy. I was ready to let it snow with good tidings, tinsel and turkey.

It was time to bring Santa back to town.

Arthur Christmas sleigh scene - film reviewArthur Christmas was as magical as the Polar Express, and as imaginative as The Grinch. I laughed out loud – almost choking on chocolate-covered scorched almonds. A fabulous feel-good festive film for sure. With super weird and diverse characters.

 

Grandsanta: Do you know Arthur? There IS a way!
Arthur: It’s impossible!
Grandsanta: They used to say that it was impossible to teach women to read! Follow me!

Arthur Christmas explores and explains every question we have about Santa Claus: How does he deliver billions of presents in one night? Do the reindeer get tired? How does he fit down the chimney? How old is Santa? Is he on a benefit for the rest of the year, seeing as he only works one day a year?

Wait, does he even get paid..?

Arthur Christmas elf scene - film reviewAfter watching this exciting adventure, you too will feel secure in the existence of Santa, as many of these questions are thoroughly answered with imaginative and quirky explanations.

I got Arthur Christmas free of charge, but it gifted me with a sleigh-worth of amusement and fun.

Grandsanta: Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Bambi, Dave, you with the white ear, you and you.

Justin Beiber as Santa ClauseOh! And you needn’t be put off by the presence of a Justin Bieber tune – despite the hype all over the DVD cover, I didn’t even notice the song.

Tell every Frosty, Noel, Saint Nick and Rudolf you meet. Unwrap the excitment and glee of the magical North Pole, tuck into the gravy-covered story, and present this snow-covered film to someone whom you can can tolerate for longer than the duration of December 25th.

With this film, it can be Christmas everyday.

Jodie’s rating: 8.5/10

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews, Jodie's Faves and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Arthur Christmas

  1. Pingback: Top 4: Favourite Festive Films | NZ Film Freak

  2. Pingback: Good riddance, 2015! | NZ Film Freak

Leave a Reply

