My fave characters: Jess and Nick in New Girl

new girl zooey and nick at the wedding scene

The characters who make it cool to be weird and poor (respectively).

In the TV show New Girl, (at least the first three seasons of it anyway), I have found it to be a faint source of inspiration. Getting the kind of security you get after watching Miranda, Bridget Jones, and Maggie Jacobs from Extras.

Jessica Day
Overly positive, cupcake-lover, animal-adorer and singer-of-songs. Jess is upbeat and away with the fairies most of the time. And despite her Bridget Jones-esk ‘flaws’, she makes it cool to be weird. I like being weird scene - Zooey in New GirlAnd relatable – even during the first episode that covers her break-up with Spencer, where she cries uncontrollably while watching Dirty Dancing six times a day. Although, when I watched Dirty Dancing on repeat, all I realised was that I really don’t like that movie… I think it’s really over-hyped.

 

Of course, Zooey is actually super pretty, and Hollywood obviously began to interfere by the time series three rolled around. But I’m going to keep hold of the image of the quirky, tea-obsessed protagonist who made There is no more tea scene Zooey in New Girlit to the screen. And was popular.

I’m gonna end up alone. I’m gonna be a single old lady, flashing people on the subway.

 

 

Nick Miller
Writers don't read. We write. New Girl scene with Nick MillerOverly negative, turtle-faced pessimist with a low-paid job. Nick is laid-back, and keeps the balance of the squad with his realist responses.
During my time being basically unemployed, Nick Miller made it cool to have aspirations of being a writer  of zombie stories without actually doing much to pursue it…

What is money anyway? It’s just paper.

Nick’s interest in time travel and zombies makes him cool in my book anyway.

The scripts are written really well, and these two actors carry off the comedy spectacularly. Especially since a lot of it is physical comedy.

And I leave you with the season one teaser…

Perhaps I do take too much guidance from fiction… Sigh.

Jodie

 

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All My Random Thoughts, Episode Reviews, My Idols and Faves and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My fave characters: Jess and Nick in New Girl

  1. Pingback: Good riddance, 2015! | NZ Film Freak

Leave a Reply

