A Little Heart (short film)

A_Little_Heart_by_Annette_Prieto_starring_Breanna_Baker_as_Gabby

Director/writer: Annette Prieto
Featuring: Breanna Baker

A Little Heart is a short film about a student who finds a disused music room, and rediscovers the old magic of playing an instrument.

I do enjoy the simplicity of this film. One person, one room, no dialogue. Emotion is transferred via the use of lighting, which tells the story of how the character is feeling. The lighting transforms the dingy room into concert hall for the character.

It’s usually the music that carries emotion, however, this wasn’t the case for this short film. Perhaps it was the instrument chosen to transform the character – the marimba. A percussion instrument, that although obviously requires a lot of skill and timing, doesn’t produce the most philosophical or reminiscent sound.

I think the audience would be on the same emotional level as the character if the music supported the story a bit more. But maybe that’s just me! I do like a bit of piano.

Nevertheless, A Little Heart is a well made short film and worth a look.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

