Love Ain’t A Prize – Donica Knight

Donica Knight Can't buy a Southern Girl song review

Another country princess makes a pop song.

Despite being a high-production-value song and music video, Love Ain’t a Prize left me feeling like I had heard it all before. The country-pop genre tends to be quite monotonous for me.
Love Ain’t A Prize is not a poorly-made song, but the chorus repeats itself too often, which makes the writing appear lazy.

The style and sound becomes a self-fulfilling stereotype. The classic black-tassel-wearing and silver-studded band members came as no surprise in Donica Knight’s video.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a bit of country music (Kelly Willis), a bit of pop (Katy Perry), and rock ‘n’ roll (Johnny Cash). But I tend to stay away from the contemporary, flamboyant country-pop genre, due to its gaudy appearance and cookie-cutter sound.
I can see why Donica Knight is growing in popularity in the Southern music scene.

She has shown her diversity and success by opening for acts including Lynyrd Skynyrd, 3 Doors Down, Kid Rock and Jamey Johnson.

Despite my personal take on the contemporary country sound and genre, if you’re into country-pop then Donica Knight is for you. She seems like the kind of artist who excels on stage with a lot of energy, and an engaging presence. She has a strong voice, confidence and style, that I’m sure will be appealing to many.

Check out her website here.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Music Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

