Love the Original Way (short film)

 

12401959_154718654895395_5238991465926259706_oDirector: Hassan Leo of Elmore films
Writer: Keldamuzik
Released: 2016
Starring: Keldamuzik

Judging by the 40-second trailer, Love the Original Way‘s plot was difficult to grasp.

Having consulted the Facebook page, I discovered this was a romantic comedy about a recovering alcoholic woman, Sissy, who turns to online dating.

After a few weird dates with various people, the so-called ‘mentally-unstable’ woman finds out that a man she has been messaging is actually in her drug and alcohol rehab class.

The concept seems a bit dark for a comedy, but online dating aspect is probably quite relatable to a young audience.

I’m suspecting this is a low-budget film – with the echoes in the audio making me wonder if an internal camera microphone was used. Judging by the trailer, there were a few post-production issues too. Resulting in a few premature cuts, and audio drowning out the dialogue. However, the lighting is quite good in the scenes I’ve seen.

I haven’t heard of Keldamuzik before, she plays sissy in Love the Original Way. But she is a recording artist and television personality who has given acting a go, with this project being her first independent film.

It would be interesting to see the entire 15 minutes to judge the storyline and actors, and to see if my suspicions are proved wrong. But for now, it does look like the production issues in this film might distract from the overall concept.

Let me know if you’ve seen Love the Natural Way – perhaps the trailer is just selling it short!

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

