Finding Dory

Finding Dory poster film review

Director: Andrew Stanton
Writer: Andrew Stanton
Released: June 2016
Featuring: Ellen DeGeneres, Albert Brooks, Hayden Rolence, Ed O’Neill, Kaitlin Olson, Ty Burrell, Diane Keaton and Eugene Levy

I was more keen to see BFG if I’m honest, but mostly because I thought Finding Nemo was so good that ‘Finding Dory‘ was just going to be a cash-in. But due to a particularly over-excited boyfriend, we ended up seeing Finding Dory.

SCute baby Dory in Finding Dory film reviewharing a small cinema with about 50 people – some of them peculiar, some of them creepy, and only a couple of them under the age of 13 – we unabashedly cracked open a couple of ciders and the movie began. And I was pleasantly surprised.

With new characters and a heart-felt story line, Finding Dory was another genius creation of Pixar.

We follow Dory (Ellen DeGeneres) as she slowly gets flash-backs to her home and parents. It leads her, Nemo (Hayden Rolence) and Marlin (Albert Brooks) across the ocean once again, and finding themselves in a Marine Life Institute. (Featuring Sigourney Weaver as herself).
Funny bird Becky in Finding Dory film review
My favourite character was probably Becky, who is a dotty bird who is rather simple.She is as creepy as she is quirky.

Although I did think Hank (Ed O’Neill (granddad in Modern Family)) the octopus was the most heart-warming character.

Funny beluga whale bailey Finding Dory film reviewBut my boyfriend’s favourite character was Bailey (Ty Burrell (aka dad in Modern Family)) the beluga whale due to the humour of watching him figure out how to be a whale, as well as the sounds he made.

Unfortunately, my boyfriend pointed out that the goofy sea lion Gerald has an uncanny resemblance to my good self… I was offended.

Funny Sealion in Finding Dory film review

In between the genuinely laugh-out-loud moments, the storyline was heavy in parts. The emphasis on family and unity and support and friendship and acceptance and patience… Man! Please calm down on the wholesome messages.

Dory’s short term memory loss became a little irritating, as the ‘wait, what are we talking about?’ jokes began to seem over-used, and wearing thin.

But it’s a movie I would happily see again. I haven’t laughed that loudly in a movie for a long time! It’s certainly aimed at us older kids (in our twenties) who grew up watching Finding Nemo.

Jodie’s rating: 7/10

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews, Jodie's Faves, Recently Released and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

