Say You’re Mine – Smoking Martha

smoking martha band

Aussie rockers, Smoking Martha, are releasing their debut album In Deep.

After listening to their single Say You’re Mine, I would say that Smoking Martha is a traditional punk rock band, which is so refreshing considering the rock bands of today are becoming more and more plastic and glossy.

The melodic vocals remind me of Hayley Williams of Paramore; very strong and powerful with pop undertones. Whereas, almost in contrast, the heavy guitar echoes early Evanescence and Queens of the Stone Age. 

Style-wise, I got nostalgic flashbacks to Gwen Stefani in No Doubt, as I watched the lead-singer in the Say You’re Mine music video. Nevertheless, the classic punk attire reminds me of the old days when punk rockers were raw and genuine. Smoking Martha would be a wicked band to see live, for sure!

Check them out on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. See their single below:

 

 

 

 

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Music Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

