Coldplay Plays Playschool – Mylo Xyloto Album

coldplay mylo xyloto

Coldplay with their new album Mylo Xyloto

So I absolutely idolise Coldplay. Their albums are spectacular, their songs are well written and Chris Martin seems like a genuine guy with a great voice – especially live.

So when I got Mylo Xyloto, Coldplay’s latest album, I was expecting to find many hits that I would put on repeat for hours. But I felt they were pushing their usually faithful audience just a little too far.

It didn’t take long before I lost all confidence and enjoyment in the music by the time I reached the second song on the CD “Hurts Like Heaven” with lyrics sounding like they were being sung to pre-school children:

Written in graffiti on a bridge in a park
‘Do you ever get the feeling that you’re missing the mark?’
It’s so cold, it’s so cold
It’s so cold, it’s so cold

Written up in marker on a factory sign
‘I struggle with the feeling that my life isn’t mine’
It’s so cold, it’s so cold
It’s so cold, it’s so cold…

…Yes, I feel a little bit nervous,
Yes, I feel nervous and I cannot relax,
How come they’re out to get us?
How come they’re out when they don’t know the facts?

Cold, is it? These lyrics really did not fit with the tune which was disappointing when you compare their new shallow and electronic-sounding music to their older songs that are richer sounding and more emotional.

But I suppose if I’m honest, these kind of lyrics did begin on the previous album with the song Violet Hill:

It was a long and dark December,
One the roof tops I remember,
There was snow,
White snow…

Yeah… All joking aside, snow is typically white. If you need to fill in a line, maybe try something a little more adventurous.

The most famous song on the new album ‘Paradise’ was a good song until my Uncle pointed out that it sounds as if Chris is saying “Pair of Tights” not “Paradise”… Yeah, try getting those lyrics out of your head when you next listen to it. Also,¬†despite the deep and meaningful nature of the lyrics not really being carried through with Chris Martin’s short notes, which didn’t quite fit the bill.


(Dreaming of a pair-of, pair-of, pair of tights)

With my favourite album being Parachute which I still listen to often, Mylo Xyloto (and to some extent Viva La Vida) was a gigantic flop which I hope this ground breaking band will be able to make a come-back from.

I have always loved Coldplay albums before I even hear the first single. But usually I’m not disappointed. Now I will not make that impulse purchase of their newest album with new fears that Coldplay is seeing how ridiculous they can make their music before their devoted fans realise.

I’m not turning into a music reviewer, but I did want to point out this massive flaw in this usually talented band, despite still being a huge fan of the band’s old music.

Verdict: Don’t waste your money, watch the parodies for free on YouTube.

Jodie.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All My Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coldplay Plays Playschool – Mylo Xyloto Album

  1. Steve says:

    I heard a few tracks from the album and thought it was one long droan. Cold play, play cold.

  2. Chrissy says:

    Totally agree with this!

  3. Buttercup says:

    Agree! It’s like you forget your disapointment & get carried away with the idea of a new Coldplay album, buy it, then remember….. There are only ever a couple of songs that really stand out on each album for me, the ones you can listen over & over to, the rest, well…… enjoying your blog!

Leave a Reply

