Suffragette

suffragette poster film review

Director: Sarah Gavron
Writer: Abi Morgan
Released: October 2015 (Boxing Day in NZ though…)
Starring: Carey Mulligan, Helena Bonham Carter, Brendan Gleeson, Anne-Marie Duff, Ben Whishaw and Meryl Streep

As you may know by reading my “Looking forward to: Suffragette” post, I have been obsessed with this film for months. I’ve watched every movie clip, interview and behind-the-scenes glimpse.

Unfortunately, it appears the film company have actually released the entire movie throughout their promotion of Suffragette… I felt like I had already seen it by the time I watched it in the cinema.

If you too have watched the trailers that have been released, you have actually seen the beginning, the most scandalous and shocking scenes, as well as the final scene.

Not even joking.

suffragette film review with Carey Mulligan arrestedWatching it in the cinema, I was clutching my handbag and holding my breath… Any second now, the mild-tempered Maud Watts (Carey Mulligan) is going to flip her sh*t.  But she didn’t. She remains meek throughout the entire film. She just cries more and more as the story goes on.

So that was disappointing.

Nevertheless, this is an important movie that accurately (I’m assuming) documents the life of women in the early 1900s. It is beautifully lit and shot, the acting is spectacular, and costume design is great.

Suffragette film review with Meryl StreepAnd, no make-up! Like, usually there’s the ‘no make-up, make-up’ look. But it actually looks like the Hollywood actresses are bare-faced. Kudos.

Suffragette is important for more than its content, though. It’s the first film ever to be shot in the Houses of Parliament. And, with a female director, writer, and predominately female cast, it’s significant for Hollywood.

Some may say Suffragette is a film made by women for women. But I think the moral of the story is fairness and equality – a universal idea that should be applied to men and women in any situation.

It’s an important film, and something to be proud of, anyway.

Jodie’s rating: 6.5/10

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Suffragette

  1. JoBradley says:

    I really liked this film and disagree that Maud was meek the entire whole time, I think she gained a lot of strength as the film progressed. I do agree that most plot points were illustrated in the trailer, though.
    Would appreciate it if you could check out my 100 Word Review of Suffragette here:

    http://scribblesofstageandscreen.com/2016/01/07/suffragette-is-superb-conclusion-to-2015-cinema/

Leave a Reply

