In The Air Tonight [cover] – Peter Nordberg

In the Air tonight Peter Nordberg

Peter Nordberg covers the Phil Collins classic, In The Air Tonight. With Nickleback-esk vocals and traditional-sounding stringed and percussion instruments, Nordberg certainly brings a different angle to the well-known song.

Both hailing from Sweden, Nordberg teamed up with mixer/producer Fredrik Andersson to release his first song in English. With electronic twists and layered vocals against the punchy bass really puts chills down my spine.

Although, it is a more tame version than the Phil Collins original with the drums taking a backseat rather than being centre stage. Nevertheless, this is a brave, authentic and raw cover, which sounds original despite the well-known lyrics.

The drums sound almost tribal – something I could imagine hearing from talented buskers on the streets of arty Melbourne. Whereas the vocals are manipulated to create a modern and rich tone. Brilliant. I’m not surprised this artist was snapped up by a label by the time he was 19, and was such a hit in Norway and Sweden. I expect he will be incredibly popular everywhere else too.

Find Peter Nordberg on Facebook and on his website. Check out the teaser for the single In the Air Tonight here.

 

About NZ Film Freak

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. Currently working in marketing, and writing fiction in my spare time. I love to write about movies on this blog when I can. I also do paid reviews and voiceovers via Fiverr (nzfilmfreak).
This entry was posted in All Music Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment