Captain America: The Winter Soldier

captain_america_2__the_winter_soldier_poster_by_littlemissromanoff-d6dgl3mDirectors: Anthony Russo and Joe Russo
Writers: Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely
Released: April 2014
Featuring: Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, Sebastian Stan, Anthony Mackie, Cobie Smulders, Frank Grillo, Emily VanCamp, Hayley Atwell, Robert Redford and Samuel L. Jackson

Wow! Okay,  I haven’t seen the first of the Captain America films (Captain America: The First Avenger) but I feel I still got the impact of the movie without much of the back story.

I haven’t seen the Avenger movies either (don’t kill me!).

Captain America: The Winter Soldier is about Captain America’s (AKA Steve Rogers) past haunting him. He was once in the army where he lost a dear friend, Bucky. The flash backs are gorgeous; back to the 1940s. Steve Rogers is trying to fit into the modern day but the values of the people in charge don’t sit well with him.

Basically there is a lot of action, awesome characters who are well developed, and the plot is so relatable with our current battle against Nanny States and over-surveillance.

la_ca_0102_Captain_AmericaI thought Captain America was going to be a patriotic conservative goody-two-shoes… A wannabe Superman if I may say so…

How wrong could I be.

Captain America is a bad ass super soldier with a ridiculously calm attitude. What a dude. With awesome morals, too.

My favourite quote of his comes about when Nick Fury (director of the super-spy agency, SHIELD, that Captain America is a part of) says that the world needs more surveillance to eradicate potential threats to humankind. Captain America/Steve Rogers, finds it difficult to justify this lack of privacy:

“…holding a gun to everyone on Earth and calling it protection… That’s not free, that’s fear!”

up5But the most impressive character was Scarlett Johansson as Black Widow/Natasha Romanoff. She is equal to male superheroes intelligence-wise and combat-wise. She is also witty… I don’t know if I’m going too far saying this, but she is CLOSE to being a female version of Batman… I’m not taking it back! It’s out there.

It happened.

Natasha is just the coolest. She doesn’t have a fat cry when things get difficult, she is sneaky and knows how to work the system. She is still so feminine without wearing next to nothing too.

I said Black Widow should have shorter hair, but then I realised that would be inconvenient for Johansson’s stunt double whose face is obscured in all the long-shot fight scenes.

captain-america-winter-soldier-sebastian-stan-set-photo_jpg_crop_displayA super exciting film that doesn’t let your mind wander during the fight scenes. Relatable characters and plot with awesome enemies. The Winter Soldier is a good-looking son of a gun, yet ridiculously ruthless with an upsetting back story.

Fantastic. Such a fun film. Even for somebody who hasn’t seen the previous film, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Scary, funny, exciting, thrilling and dark.

Go see it.

Jodie’s rating: 7/10

 

About NZ Film Freak

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. Currently working in marketing, and writing fiction in my spare time. I love to write about movies on this blog when I can. I also do paid reviews and voiceovers via Fiverr (nzfilmfreak).
This entry was posted in action, All Film Reviews, Guys' Night In and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Captain America: The Winter Soldier

  1. Pingback: Sayonara, 2014! | NZ Film Freak

  2. Pingback: Godzilla (2014) | NZ Film Freak

  3. Pingback: Captain America Poster – Wallpaper Site

Leave a comment