In Time

In time poster

Director: Andrew Niccol
Writer: Andrew Niccol
Released: 2011
Starring: Justin Timberlake, Amanda Seyfried

I think this is going to be a short entry today. Because I’ve been mulling this film over and over in my head for a good few months since I watched it.

It’s a film about how in the future everybody would be paid in time. With a count-down timer on our arm (which would make a pretty cool tattoo) we have to use that time to pay for things we need such as bus rides and food.

In-Time-MovieThis film does have some powerful points, such as the rich getting richer while the poor get poorer. It does make a stand how unfair it is that the few wealthy and powerful people in the world have total control over 99% of the planet’s population. It’s a film about greed which is parallel to real life.

Unfortunately, this become secondary to the romance, which dilutes the impact of the potentially strong and shocking political statement trying to be made.

Quite simply, this thought-provoking Matrix/Inceptionlike film could have been a decent action/thriller if it wasn’t for the following three things:

in-time-Justin-Timberlake-Amanda-Seyfried-1NUMBER 1: If the story line wasn’t so obviously and devoted to the old-age tale of Robin Hood. Stealing from the rich and giving to the poor. Justin Timberlake wasn’t a bad actor,  but his character was too unrealistic. Will Salas (Justin Timberlake) was a worker with just enough income to survive, until a ‘rich’ man donates all of his time to him. Sales then gets into top security places and eventually steels most of the money to donate to the poor sections of the world which he continues to do until every body is equally rich.

Not very original, is it, if you replace the guns with bow and arrows and the city with a forrest.

amanda-seyfried-NUMBER 2: This turned into a romance. Like, I would say that this film was not a “Mystery & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy” (according to Rotten Tomatoes), but a Romance/Action. How the love interest (Amanda Seyfried) could run in those six-inch heels and still rob banks… I do not know.

NUMBER 3: It is quite simply too far-fetched. They should have stuck to developing the lifestyle and internal struggles of watching our life tick away from you. I think that would have been way more interesting…

Intime Arm Count down

I was pretty disappointed with this one, actually… But perhaps I was wanting to see a deep and meaningful movie when In Time was essentially a chick-flick disguised as a sci-fi/action in the trailer.

Jodie’s Rating: 5/10

About NZ Film Freak

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. Currently working in marketing, and writing fiction in my spare time. I love to write about movies on this blog when I can. I also do paid reviews and voiceovers via Fiverr (nzfilmfreak).
This entry was posted in action, All Film Reviews, Date Night Movies, Guys' Night In, sci-fi and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to In Time

  1. Popeye says:

    The film is junk, what was Timberlake thinking of?! I think I should sue someone for the time I lost watching it. How do I get that back?

  2. Popeye says:

    Have you seen the film Time Bandits?

  3. Anastasia says:

    It seemed to have a promising story the whole rich/poor thing (yeah its been done before, but what hasn’t & if it’s done well then………..) but I didn’t even find the ‘romance’ convincing, the two didn’t seem to ‘gel’ & just didn’t look right somehow, is that a bit superficial???

  4. Pingback: The Matrix | The Film Freak of NZ

  5. Pingback: Goodbye, 2012! | The Film Freak of NZ

  6. Pingback: Elysium | The Film Freak of NZ

Leave a comment