My Fave Character: Jocelyn

MV5BMTQwNjc0MDYzOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwODkwMzc3._V1_SX640_SY720_I’ve reviewed The Jane Austen Book Club, which I thoroughly enjoyed, and I did write a short bio of the characters in my review. But I wanted to expand on my favourite character, Jocelyn.

Maria Bello plays Jocelyn.
Jocelyn has never fallen in love, but she says she’s happy with that:

“…alone is not the end of the world. For as many years as you’ve been married I’ve been quite happily unmarried… I mean, I don’t know. I wouldn’t mind falling in love, but it just all seems like fiction to me, anyway.

She’s a dog-breeder, and if you catch onto her mannerisms early enough, you’ll notice she treats men like dogs – she’s strict, short-tempered and dominant with them. Her use of language when speaking about people is similar to how she would talk about dogs.

“No one I’m interested in. He’s young, compliant, said he might enjoy being in a book club… Do you think Sylvia responded to him?”

Jocelyn is drawn to ‘Grigg’ because he’s “eager to please” and “tries hard”… Sort of like a dog.

Sylvia (left) and Jocelyn (right)

Sylvia (left) and Jocelyn (right)

Jocelyn is known as the ‘match-maker’, always on the look-out for who she can pair people up with. She partnered her best friend Sylvia up with a guy who is now Sylvia’s husband.

I think Jocelyn is super cool because she’s independent and lives by herself in the country doing exactly what she wants. She dresses quite casual (except for the final scene), in knitted shrugs, jeans, long skirts and turtle-necks.

a19bc551-7228-4b74-915a-b81733a21fe0_detail

Jocelyn and Grigg

In the movie, she hesitantly opens up to change. Starting by reading a book Grigg suggests, which Jocelyn is sure she won’t enjoy.
“I think at my age I should know what I like”
But the more she relaxes and allows him to be a friend – rather than a person to direct – the more she changes into a calmer and happier person.

I love Jocelyn. She’s so pretty (I want her hair), and confident in herself.

Jodie.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in My Idols and Faves and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

