My Fave Character: Louise Sawyer

ThelmaLouise_013Pyxurz
I recently reviewed Thelma and Louise, which is my favourite movie of all time.

Out of the two main characters, I connected with Louise more because I admire her more than Thelma (who is ditsy, and reminds me too much of myself!).thelma_ja_louise

“Suspect: Louise Elizabeth Sawyer. Red hair, brown eyes, five-foot, seven inches tall, on hundred and twenty pounds…”

Louise is so sassy. In the bar scene at the beginning of their road trip, I love how she doesn’t even give Harlan (a guy at the bar who is hitting on them) the time of day.

At that point, Harlan seemed like  just a confident gentleman who approached the pair. But she saw right through him.

Harlan: Hey! Now what are a couple of Kewpie dolls like you doin’ in a place like this?
Louise: Mindin’ our own business. Why don’t you try it.

Despite her straight-up-and-down character, she has a generous side. Like when she left the waitress “a huge tip” at a bar. Sawyer is a waitress by day, so I think she completely understood how far a bigger tip would go.

She drives a green/blue T-Bird convertible, wears well-fitted jackets and western-style boots.

Susan Sarandon does a spectacular job portraying her as a motherly, yet, fiercely independent woman. Louise seems like somebody who you could rely on.

Jodie.

There’s not a lot out there, so this trailer will have to do. However, this is the original 90s trailer which portrays the movie as a straight-laced comedy, which isn’t accurate at all.

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in My Idols and Faves and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

