Hidden Figures

hidden-figures-poster

Director: Theodore Melfi
Writers: Allison Schroeder & Theodore Melfi. Based on the book by Margot Lee Shetterly
Released: December 2016
Starring: Taraji P. Henson, Octavia Spencer, Janelle Monáe, Kevin Costner, Kirsten Dunst Jim Parsons, Mahershala Ali, Aldis Hodge and Glen Powell

This was actually quite a funny film!

Hidden-Figures-13.jpgI was expecting a super dramatic biopic, but as compelling as the storyline absolutely is, it is intertwined with down-to-Earth humour. (Pun intended.)

A fantastically inspiring movie based on three real-life black women who worked at NASA in the sixties. It follows their triumphs and successes, despite being completely discriminated against for being black, and for being women.

A classic ‘human’ story, with particularly relatable and believable moments that are so easy to connect with emotionally.

Karl Zielinski: …Let me ask you, if you were a white male, would you wish to be an engineer?
Mary Jackson: I wouldn’t have to. I’d already be one.

Truly inspiring, shocking and sassy!

hiddenfigures_trailer2.jpgThe three main characters are Katherine Goble Johnson (Taraji Penda Henson, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button), Dorothy Vaughan (Octavia Spencer, The Help) and Mary Jackson (Janelle Monáe).

Mary Jackson was my personal favourite because she had some of the best come-backs, and every dress she wore was absolutely beautiful. I want all of them please. (Look at everyone’s shoes too! I’m in love.)

The film is perhaps longer than needed… But having said that, there’s not a single scene I would be happy parting with!

Vivian Mitchell (Kirstin Dunst): Despite what you may think, I have nothing against y’all.
Dorothy Vaughan: I know, I know you probably believe that.

I thoroughly enjoyed it, and so did my fiancé. We laughed a lot, I cried a lot (the proposal seen oh my Loooooord!!) and we walked away at the end of a mighty fine evening feeling uplifted.

We went to see Hidden Figures at a cinema in Wareham, Dorset called The Rex Cinema. I would thoroughly recommend paying a visit. The cinema was built in the 1800s, and the same grand and intriguing interior remains today. It was the perfect atmosphere to watch such a historical and proud film.

Jodie’s rating: 8.5/10

About Jodie (NZ Film Freak)

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. I enjoy writing on my blog about films and songs, plus the odd random thought. Currently working as a writer in UK. Follow me on Twitter @NZFilmFreak and like my Facebook page NZ Film Freak. Follow my travels around the world www.jodiehart.co.nz
Gallery | This entry was posted in All Film Reviews, Jodie's Faves, Recently Released and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

