Au revoir, 2013!

beatles-last-photoHAPPY NEW YEAR!

’tis 2014… That’s a scary thought.

This year has been a huge learning curve for me; my writing has improved and  how I critique movies.

I have been accepted into my journalism major which I hope will get me closer to my dream of travelling the world and writing about what and who I discover.

Since the beginning of my blog – exactly two years ago today –  filmfreak.co.nz has received 70, 000 hits. So thank you for paying an interest, I am very proud of this accomplishment. The United States have been my biggest audience, with New Zealand, France and United Kingdom close behind! A huge thank you!!

This year has been a year of the superhero. Batman, Superman, Thor, Wolverine, Avengers… I’m not complaining though. Superheroes are an awesome trend to have.

I have certainly noticed films have been getting longer though. Three hour long films are becoming popular. Although, like 3D films, I am hoping the excessive length will move along too.

I have joined up with Fiverr, so my indie films, and many of my song reviews, have been via that site. Not only has it helped fund my blog, but it has introduced us to many emerging artists from all around the world. These are inspiring and ambitious people – so well done to all of you! The list of their films are at the bottom of this post.

Keeping with my tradition, I shall present to you the film reviews of 2013. The Secret Life of Walter Mitty being the hugest accomplishment of the year, with Movie 43 being at the bottom of the heap.

Please enjoy reminiscing over these films released or viewed by my good self, Jodie, during 2013:

Gold, Jerry, Gold!
10/10 (Revised to 8/10 in 2014)
The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

9.5/10
Gravity

9/10
The Prestige
The Conjuring

Hoochie Mama!
8.5/10
Cemetery Junction
Dead Poets Society
The Butterfly Effect

8/10
Bridesmaids

The Help
The Blair Witch Project
Made In Dagenham
Chocolat
The Breakfast Club
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Elysium

7.5/10
Thor: The Dark World

World War Z
Easy A
The Jane Austen Book Club
Walk the Line
Iron Man 3

7/10
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Morning Glory
Gangster Squad
Megamind
Man of Steel
Star Trek: Into Darkness
Midnight In Paris

Giddy-Up!
6.5/10
The Great Gatsby
Water for Elephants
Jack the Giant Slayer

6/10
This is the End

Django Unchained
Burlesque

5.5/10
The Wolverine

5/10
The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
Super
Now You See Me
Wreck-It Ralph

Yada, Yada, Yada…
4/10
Oz: The Great and Powerful 

A Show About Nothing!
1.5/10
Movie 43

Indie Films
Tamla Rose
Beer & Seed
My Brother Lives in China
Locked (Short Film)
Agophobia (Short Film)

PLUS over 40 song reviews!

Thank you for sticking with Film Freak. I have really enjoyed this year, and I hope 2014 will bring more incredible movies to enjoy and critique!

I would love to hear from you; I read every comment you write – even the spammers’! So keep getting in touch, it means so much to hear your feedback. Let me know what movies you want reviewed!

My Facebook and my Twitter :)
Jodie.

 

About NZ Film Freak

I am a journalism graduate (2014) from New Zealand. Currently working in marketing, and writing fiction in my spare time. I love to write about movies on this blog when I can. I also do paid reviews and voiceovers via Fiverr (nzfilmfreak).
This entry was posted in Extras and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Au revoir, 2013!

  1. jackie426 says:

    I love reading your blog. Keep up the great work in 2014!

Leave a comment